90% less CO₂ emission
with HVO

Renewable fuel for better air
 


PistenBully runs sustainably on waste fuels
Kässbohrer has reached another milestone with regard to sustainability: the use of clean HVO fuel to support ski areas in their effort to achieve more climate neutrality. Beginning with the 2022 model year, all PistenBully vehicles set out on their trek to the slopes of the world using pure HVO fuel. This fuel is based on hydrogenated fat waste of plant and animal origin and reduces CO₂ emissions by about 90% per operating hour compared to conventional diesel fuel. 

Saisontest in Jungholz

HVO Kraftstoff mit bis zu 90% CO2 Reduktion

At Hemavan Ski Resort, we want to do everything to reduce the effects on the environment. There are a few areas in which we can achieve great improvements. The fuel for our snow groomers is one of them. The tests conducted with HVO fuel last season worked so well that we will only use HVO100 in our PistenBully vehicles in the coming winter. This decision will reduce our CO2 footprint significantly. 
Toni Franz, CEO Hemavan Alpint, Sweden 


This is HVO

Hydrotreated Vegetable Oil
 

Waste fat becomes clean HVO fuel
HVO is produced synthetically by what is called hydrogenation of waste fat from the food industry, fisheries and slaughterhouses as well as vegetable oils (not intended for human consumption). The result is a high-quality raw material made from renewable resources. Its chemical structure is identical to that of fossil diesel fuel, for which it can, consequently, be a complete substitute. The fossil-free HVO fuel is environmentally friendly as its production emits 90% less CO₂. There are further advantages. It is non-toxic, biodegradable and emits little odor, while it burns better and is easier to filter. What is particularly important during use in snow: Down to -10° C, HVO has better low-temperature characteristics than conventional winterized diesel fuel. By the way, the HVO fuel used by Kässbohrer contains no palm oil.



What happens during combustion

HVO fuel vs. diesel fuel 
 

HVO fuel
diesel fuel

HVO is a synthetic fuel made from biological materials and waste, which reduces harmful emissions, achieves a 90% reduction in CO2 and, furthermore, reduces fine particles emission.

How you can use HVO

Easy to use in any PistenBully vehicle from the current generation
 

Conversion to synthetic diesel is very simple
Change your way of thinking, order HVO, fill your PistenBully with it and reduce CO₂ emissions immediately. The engine does not need to be modified in any way. HVO can be blended with commercially available diesel fuel or used 100% pure. In addition to the massive reduction in CO₂ emissions, there are further benefits. As this synthetically produced fuel burns more cleanly, about 30% fewer particles are emitted.

FAQ

No. Biodiesel is produced through transesterification of vegetable oils and greases. HVO fuel is produced synthetically through hydrogenation.

Most of the larger mineral oil groups distribute HVO fuels under the names HVO100 or C.A.R.E. Often they can also be obtained from smaller, regional dealers.

Due to daily fluctuating mineral oil prices there is no fixed price difference. In general HVO fuels are slightly more expensive than diesel from mineral oil.

HVO fuels are produced from renewable raw materials. Thus the CO₂ reduction compared to diesel is up to 90%.

HVO fuels according to EN 15940 can be mixed without restriction and in any ratio with diesel fuel of standard EN 590. Cleaning or flushing the fuel system is not necessary. Combined use of the fuel variants is also possible.

We are not aware of any changes in consumption or performance. Depending on the respective operating conditions, however, this cannot be ruled out.

eFuel for PistenBully

Project start in Hintertux
 

Founding partner of the eFuel Alliance Austria: Christian Paar, Franz Hörl, Klaus Dengg und Jürgen Roth (Chairman of the Board of eFuel Alliance Austria)

When it comes to alternative drives, PistenBully doesn't put all its eggs only in one basket. It is also a supporting member of the eFuel Alliance Austria. With the pilot test on the Hintertux Glacier, the eFuel Alliance Austria is looking for an environmentally friendly solution for the future of CO2 neutral snow grooming: A PistenBully is operated here with eFuel and scientifically accompanied. EFuels are synthetically produced liquid fuels. They are produced from hydrogen. The energy required originates from wind and solar plants. By synthesizing with CO2, the "power-to-liquid" process and renewable energies, eFuel can be produced in a climate-neutral way.

A major advantage is that when using eFuel, "no major modification to the engines or fuel infrastructure is required," explains Christian Paar, Managing Director of Kässbohrer Austria GmbH. And the most decisive argument: eFuel can be produced in unlimited quantities. As part of the pilot project, a PistenBully is operated with eFuel and scientifically accompanied to test the functionality in use under real conditions. With 30 million liters of fuel per year for snow groomers in Austrian ski resorts, this could save up to 40,000 tons of CO2 annually.

90% weniger CO₂ Ausstoß
mit HVO 

Erneuerbarer Kraftstoff für eine bessere Luft
 


PistenBully fährt nachhaltig mit Abfallstoffen
Bei Kässbohrer steht ein weiterer Meilenstein in Sachen Nachhaltigkeit an:  Der Einsatz von sauberem HVO Kraftstoff unterstützt die Skigebiete bei ihren Anstrengungen für mehr Klimaneutralität. Sämtliche PistenBully ab dem Baujahr 2022 treten ihren Weg auf die Pisten der Welt mit reinem HVO-Kraftstoff an. Dieser basiert auf hydrierten pflanzlichen und tierischen Fettabfällen und reduziert den CO₂ Ausstoß bei jeder Betriebsstunde um rund 90% gegenüber herkömmlichem Diesel. 

Saisontest in Jungholz

HVO Kraftstoff mit bis zu 90% CO2 Reduktion

Im Hemavan Ski Resort wollen wir alles dafür tun, um die Auswirkungen auf die Umwelt zu reduzieren. Es gibt einige Bereiche, in denen wir große Verbesserungen erzielen können. Der Kraftstoff für unsere Pistenfahrzeuge ist einer davon. Die Tests mit HVO in der letzten Saison haben so gut funktioniert, dass wir im kommenden Winter nur noch HVO100 in unseren PistenBully verwenden werden - eine Entscheidung, die den CO2-Fußabdruck erheblich reduzieren wird. 
Toni Franz, CEO Hemavan Alpint, Schweden


Was HVO ist

Hydrotreated Vegetable Oil
 

Aus Abfallfett wird sauberer Kraftstoff
HVO wird durch die sogenannte Hydrierung aus Abfallfett der Lebensmittelindustrie, der Fischerei und Schlachtereien sowie Pflanzenölen (die nicht für die Lebensmittelindustrie bestimmt sind) synthetisch hergestellt. Das Ergebnis ist ein hochwertiger Kraftstoff aus nachwachsenden Rohstoffen, dessen chemische Struktur identisch ist mit der von fossilem Diesel und diesen daher vollständig ersetzen kann. Der fossilfreie HVO-Kraftstoff schont mit rund 90 % weniger CO₂-Ausstoß die Umwelt. Weitere Vorteile: ungiftig, biologisch abbaubar, geruchsarm - bei besserer Verbrennung und Filtrierbarkeit. Besonders wichtig beim Einsatz im Schnee: HVO hat bis -10° C bessere Tieftemperatureigenschaften als ein herkömmlicher Winterdieselkraftstoff. Bei dem von Kässbohrer verwendeten HVO Kraftsoff wird übrigens vollständig auf Palmöl verzichtet.



Was bei der Verbrennung passiert

HVO-Kraftstoff vs. Diesel
 

HVO-Kraftstoff
Diesel

HVO ist ein aus Bio- und Abfallstoffen hergestellter, synthetischer Kraftstoff, der schädliche Emissionen vermindert, eine CO2-Einsparung von bis zu 90 % erreicht und zusätzlich den Feinstaub reduziert.

Wie Sie HVO einsetzen können

Einfach in jedem PistenBully der aktuellen Generation einsetzbar
 

Die Umstellung auf synthetischen Diesel ist denkbar einfach 
Umdenken, HVO bestellen, den PistenBully damit betanken und sofort CO₂ reduzieren. Eine Modifikation des Motors ist nicht notwendig. HVO kann dem handelsüblichen Diesel beigemischt oder zu 100% rein verwendet werden. Neben der massiven CO₂-Reduzierung ergeben sich noch weitere Vorteile: Da dieser synthetisch hergestellte Kraftstoff sauberer verbrennt, werden rund 30% weniger schädliche Partikel ausgestoßen.

FAQ

Nein. Biodiesel wird durch Umesterung von Pflanzenölen und Fetten hergestellt. HVO Kraftstoff wird synthetisch durch Hydrierung hergestellt.

Die meisten größeren Mineralölkonzerne vertreiben HVO-Kraftstoffe unter den Namen HVO100 oder C.A.R.E. Oft sind diese auch über kleinere, regionale Händler beziehbar.

Auf Grund der täglich schwankenden Mineralölpreise gibt es keinen festen Preisunterschied. Generell sind HVO-Kraftstoffe etwas teurer als Diesel aus Mineralöl.

HVO-Kraftstoffe werden aus nachwachsenden Rohstoffen erzeugt. Dadurch liegt die CO₂-Reduktion im Vergleich zu Diesel bei bis zu 90%.

HVO-Kraftstoffe nach EN 15940 sind ohne Einschränkung und in jedem Verhältnis mit Dieselkraftstoff der Norm EN 590 mischbar. Reinigen oder Spülen der Kraftstoffanlage sind nicht notwendig. Auch ein kombinierter Einsatz der Kraftstoffvarianten ist möglich.

Uns sind keine Veränderungen bei Verbrauch und Leistung bekannt. Abhängig von den jeweiligen Einsatzbedingungen kann dies aber nicht ausgeschlossen werden.

eFuel für PistenBully 

Nächster Projektstart in Hintertux
 

Gründungspartner der eFuel-Alliance Österreich: Christian Paar, Franz Hörl, Klaus Dengg und Jürgen Roth (Vorstandsvorsitzender der eFuel Alliance Österreich)

PistenBully setzt beim Thema alternative Antriebe nicht nur auf ein Pferd. So ist man auch „Gründungspartner“ der eFuel-Alliance Österreich. Mit dem Pilotversuch am Hintertuxer Gletscher sucht die eFuel Alliance Österreich nach einer umweltschonenden Zukunftslösung für eine CO₂ neutrale Pistenpflege. eFuels sind synthetisch erzeugte flüssige Kraft- und Brennstoffe. Sie werden aus Wasserstoff hergestellt. Die dafür notwendige Energie stammt aus Wind- und Solaranlagen. Durch die Synthese mit CO₂, dem „Power-to-Liquid“-Verfahren, und erneuerbaren Energien lässt sich eFuel klimaneutral herstellen. 

Auch hier liegt der große Vorteil darin, dass beim Einsatz von eFuel „keine großartige Änderung an den Motoren oder der Kraftstoffinfrastruktur erforderlich ist“, erklärt Christian Paar, Geschäftsführer der Kässbohrer Austria GmbH. Und das entschiedenste Argument: eFuel kann in unbegrenzter Menge produziert werden. Im Rahmen des Pilotprojektes wird ein PistenBully mit eFuel betrieben und wissenschaftlich begleitet, um die Funktionalität im Einsatz unter Echtbedingungen zu erproben. Bei 30 Millionen Liter Kraftstoff pro Jahr für Pistenraupen in österreichischen Skigebieten könnten so jährlich bis zu 40.000 Tonnen CO₂ eingespart werden.